Floss and bobbins

General chit chat forum

Floss and bobbins

Postby BWest0110 » Sat Apr 21, 2018 2:40 am

Hello everyone. My name is Brandy and I am new to both the forum and cross stitching.

I have started out with stamped pattern kits. I figured it would be easier to stitch amid constant distractions. So far, so good.

The first two kits I finished were fairly simple and consisted of less than sixteen colors. The floss is included and is organized on cards with holes punched along the edges. There are sixteen holes punched along one side of the cards. This is what gives the number sixteen it's significance.

I just started my third kit, and it consists of thirty-seven different colors of floss. I'm sure you know where I'm going with this.

Now, for the first time, I am having to find other ways to keep my floss from tangling. I did some research and decided on plastic bobbins. I label them in pencil, since I only have small amounts of precut floss, with both the corresponding pattern number and the DMC number value.

I hand wrapped the first ten colors before breaking down and getting a bobbin winder off Amazon. I am in the early stages of RA, so hand fatigue isn't something I should try to push through. Of course, the hand wrapped bobbins look so perfectly neat and pretty. The winded bobbins aren't near as perfect, because I don't have anything to anchor the winder with. It is easy to do with two hands, but I am too clumsy when trying to ensure the floss lines up perfectly. I decided to choose my battles.

Since I am working with kits, and there isn't a whole lot of leftover floss, I have yet to invest in storage boxes for the bobbins. The bobbins I ordered off Amazon came with rings to store used bobbins on. The OCD-like tendencies in me aren't crazy about this setup, but again, I am choosing my battles.